The Ural Winter

by Tom McShane

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      £7.90 GBP


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Heavy weight vinyl in brown eco-friendly card sleeve.
    Includes digital download, inlay with lyrics, picture and album info.

    All vinyl is posted 1st class in stiff cardboard envelopes.

    £3 P&P within the UK.
    £4.50 EU
    £7 Rest of the world

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Ural Winter via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      £10 GBP




On the 3rd July 2010 Tom McShane and his assembled band congregated in the Oh Yeah! Centre in Belfast to record his debut album within two live sessions held in front of a small audience. This wasn't a live album per se as the audience where there to bring the special atmosphere that can only be generated by performing to a crowd. The tension was raised further by the banning of over-dubs and attempts for each song being restricted to one per session, of which there were two.

“In every sense possible, this feels like a very genuine, candid and intimate piece of work. Written both during and in the wake of a tumultuous and difficult period of his life, the songs are achingly personal and revealing. The fuzzy edges and raw energy of the live setting seep through every note, giving them all a refreshingly unpolished, uncontrived personality.”

"Humane, lyrical, piercingly truthful (and personal): this is the album Tom has been working towards for years." Hot Press Magazine

“Produced by Tom with Rocky O’Reilly, the effect is that of a lo-fi Phil Spector. It’s an intimate wall of sound -and comparisons may very reasonably drawn with the likes of eagleowl and Low.” 17 Seconds

“Fuzzy guitar riffs are blended with a good balance of strings and brass, creating a folk music which pertains ever-so-slightly to classical and jazz. A relatively accurate comparison for the as-yet-uninitiated might be Fleet Foxes: intricate and intelligent, electrified... this record is like a bucket of cold Evian in the face, and destined to stand above the crowd.” The Big List

“One of the most exciting local albums that this writer has heard in… well, ages.” AU Magazine

“By bringing people together on that summer's day in 2010, a certain spark happened; something that made the music more alive. This is a downbeat, melancholic album that manages to feel raw and alive and is well worth your attention.” Slow Thrills


released June 18, 2012

Album Credits

Written and Arranged by Tom Mc Shane

Tom McShane: Vocal & Guitar
Nick Fitzsimones: Drums
Marty Timlin: Upright Bass
Conor Scullion: Piano & Organ
Ciara O'Neill: Vocals on tracks 4,5,7&9
Hornby: Guitar on 8, Vocals on 4,7&9
Amy McGarrigle: Glockenspiel on 5, Vocals on 4&9
Rich Dale: Vocals on 9
Ben McAuley: Vocals on 4
Angie McCrisken: Violin on 4,6&9
Michael McMullan: Violin on 4,6&9
Zara Flemming: Cello on 4,5,6&9
Linley Hamilton: Trumpet on 2,3,7&9
David Bennington: Trumpet on 2,3&7

Horn Arrangements by Linley Hamilton
String Arrangements on tracks 4,6&9 by Angie McCrisken

Produced by Rocky O'Reilly & Tom McShane
Engineered by Ben McAuley
Assistant Engineer: Lee McMahon
Mixed by Rocky O'Reilly at Start Together
Mastered by Doug Van Sloun at Focus Mastering, Nebraska



all rights reserved


Tom McShane Belfast, UK

Tom McShane is a musician from the coastal town of Dundrum, N. Ireland. His new album, The Ural Winter is available now as digital download & on 12" vinyl.

contact / help

Contact Tom McShane

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code